• CROWDSCALE
  • Posts
  • 😯 Revealing my entire startup portfolio

😯 Revealing my entire startup portfolio

here's every detail about the investments I've made.

Today I am naked.

For one day only, I am showing everything (in my startup portfolio).

Go ahead, take a look. Just don’t be weird about it.

NEW STARTUPS

Startups that you can invest in with as little as $100 right now:

🧑‍🤝‍🧑 Turant AI - Your reliable AI digital ally (LINK)

 💼 Athyna - Talent matching AI-precision + speed. $6M in ARR. (LINK)

🏍️ Curtiss Motorcycles - Luxury, electric motorcycles (LINK)

🤖 AI is Replacing Helping Authors

Would you believe me if I told you that this AI startup is…

  • empowering authors, instead of replacing them

  • backed by 108 bestselling authors

  • profitable????

Authors A.I. grew 220% last year, and you can get early equity today!

EVERY STARTUP I’VE INVESTED IN

Without further adieu, here is every startup I’ve invested in, how much was invested, and what their valuation multiple stands at. 

  1. AtomBeam ($9,236) - 14.9x paper gains* 🎉🎉🎉

  2. StartEngine ($7,751) - 1.7x paper gains 🎉

  3. Blue Zone Partners ($6,500) - Returned 1x cash, still maintain equity stake 🎉

  4. TriAgenics ($3,415)

  5. Uncanny.gg ($3,000)

  6. Wefunder ($2,850) -1.1x paper gains 🎉

  7. NxNW Brewing ($2,501) - now bankrupt ☹️

  8. NowRx ($1,600) - also bankrupt ☹️

  9. Quickloadz ($1,500) - 1.7x paper gains 🎉

  10. Avadain ($1,250)

  11. Virtuix ($1,200) - 2.6x paper gains 🎉

  12. The BuildClub ($1,000)

  13. Psyonic ($1,000)

  14. Boxabl ($1,000) - 1.1x paper gains 🎉

  15. SolarGaps ($1,000) - 1.2x paper gains 🎉

  16. Cafe-X ($850)

  17. ||NEW|| Beehiiv ($750)

  18. Hedge ($625)

  19. Azure Printed Homes ($600) 1.7x paper gains 🎉

  20. ||NEW|| Kamoti ($571)

  21. Whiteclouds ($550) - 1.2x paper gains 🎉

  22. ||NEW|| Kara Water ($500)

  23. ||NEW|| Offline ($500)

  24. Substack ($500)

  25. Clockwork ($500)

  26. Ink’d Greetings ($500)

  27. Ola Brew ($500)

  28. Ollo Footwear ($500)

  29. Armbrust American ($500)

  30. Praise Token ($500) - effectively bankrupt, but plodding along ☹️

  31. FuelGems ($400) - 1.5x paper gains 🎉

  32. Crafter ($350)

  33. The Sill ($300)

  34. Irrigreen ($250) - 1.4x paper gains 🎉

  35. ||NEW|| Novella AI ($250)

  36. Autocase ($250)

  37. Four Doors ($200)

  38. Republic Note ($150) - actively trading, currently -81%**

    *I invested in AtomBeam at several valuation levels, and was also compensated by AtomBeam in stock for content creation I did for them. 14.9x paper gains is the best multiple from this range of investments & RSUs

    **I actually recommended against investing in Republic note here, but scooped up a very small portion since it comes with ‘access’ perks to exclusive crowdfunding events. As someone reporting in the space I had to buy in to stay informed!

I’ve added five new startups since my last portfolio update - you may notice that my investment amount is lower than previous investments. This is a conscious decision that’s a result of two factors.

First, I got married to my best friend this weekend.

I couldn’t be more happy & elated to formally celebrate our 7-year relationship, and to continue building a lovely life together.

To pull off this wonderful day, I needed to prioritize where I spent/invested my dollars and the wedding easily trumps startup investing.

Second, I wanted to balance my investment allocation. Internet strangers claim you should only put 5-10% of your wealth into startups.

I do agree that the allocation should be low for budding investors, since mistakes can wipe out entire investments.

While conducting my monthly financial audit, I realized that my startup portfolio was creeping above 20% of my net worth.

Look - if I’m writing a newsletter to ~5,000 readers about startup investing… you best believe I’m going to put my money on the line.

I purposefully want a higher allocation than the 5-10% guidance, but north of 20% starts to approach my limit. Startup investing is both risky, and highly illiquid.

Reducing my check size was a way to stay active in the space while lowering my overall allocation to the space.

And the five startups I brought on board are extremely exciting to me.

  • Beehiiv - how this email gets sent to you. I’m a happy customer and they’ve gone from concept → millions in ARR in just a few year.

  • Kara Water - my bet on the rising expectations of water quality

  • Kamoti - first company to put green tea shots in a bottle

  • Novella AI - if Adobe Premiere was made with AI

  • Offline - restaurant subscription that brings back human connection

From my previous startups, one stands out with a huge valuation increase: AtomBeam.

They’re planning to raise at a $149M valuation - back when I was beating the drum for them (and investing), they were raising at a $10M valuation.

My stake in this startup now roughly stands at ~$66,000.

Now of course, this means….absolutely nothing. 

Until AtomBeam has an exit event, my stake in the company is just a piece of paper.

When I did my last update, a few readers reached out to provide what my entire portfolio is worth on paper. For the points I just made above I don’t think this means all that much, BUT… I’m a man of the people. 😉

Total Invested

Total Value (on paper)

Total Delta

$58,400

$129,692

+122%

I wouldn’t even recommend taking this directionally for a series of reasons:

  • This does not account for dilution

  • Some of these startups that have markups will inevitably go out of business and be worth nothing

  • Some startups that are super successful but have not raised money at a new valuation don’t have any markup on paper but are theoretically worth much more

We’ll know in ten years how this portfolio actually performed, but for now I’m very happy with the bets I’ve made.

My ask to you.

$1,000 invested in AtomBeam is now worth almost $15,000 on paper - I let readers know about this opportunity way back when it was just an idea.

I send out an alert every time I invest in a startup to a core group of subscribers. One of these alerts could be the next AtomBeam.

BUT I only send these alerts to a small group - readers who have shared CROWDSCALE with a friend.

If you send CROWDSCALE to your friends and one of them subscribes, you get added to this select group that receives deal alerts.

Grab your unique referral code below and start firing those bad boys out.

Did you like this article?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Please note that CROWDSCALE is not recommending investment into any of the above startups. Investing in startups is risky and you should only invest that which you are able to lose.

Reply

or to participate.