• CROWDSCALE
  • Posts
  • Revealing my entire startup portfolio

Revealing my entire startup portfolio

this week we're going behind the scenes

It’s okay to take a peek.

Transparency is a key value that I strive to bring forward in the newsletter. With that, I will be revealing every startup investment I’ve made (even the bad ones!).

In total, I’ve invested $52,830 into 33 startups over a span of 6 years.

StartEngine and Wefunder are the top platforms that I’ve used to source deals:

  • StartEngine: 14

  • Wefunder: 8

  • Republic: 5

  • Other: 3

A full breakdown of my investments AND their performance can be found further down in this note! And if you have any questions, just reply directly to this email!

In Partnership with Veer

MORE SPEED. MORE POWER.

Veer has designed state of-the-art carbon fiber drivetrains to power light electric vehicles like e-scooters and e-bikes. Replacing old + greasy bike chains that don't hold up to the power of electric motors, Veer can take advantage of a multi-billion dollar industry that's growing rapidly.

And they already have traction:

  • Thousands of units sold, 200% sales growth

  • $1M raised from 1,020+ investors

  • Partnerships with 50+ retail dealers and numerous bike manufacturers globally

Veer is allowing you to invest in the early stages of the company, if you're interested in getting early equity in the startup click the link below!

REVEALING MY PORTFOLIO

Every startup deal was hand-selected after careful evaluation by myself and my business pawtner

Many startups stay private and don’t experience an exit for 7-10 years. Being in year 6 of my startup investment journey, I have yet to see an exit but have seen several significant valuation increases - especially from my ‘big bets’.

Below is the startup I invested in, how much was invested, and any performance updates. ‘Paper gains’ refer to any increases in value that exist on paper but have not yet been realized.

  1. AtomBeam ($9,236) - 7.0x paper gains* 🎉

  2. StartEngine ($7,751) - 1.7x paper gains 🎉

  3. Blue Zone Partners ($6,500) - Returned 1x cash, still maintain equity stake

  4. TriAgenics ($3,415)

  5. Uncanny.gg ($3,000)

  6. Wefunder ($2,850) -1.1x paper gains 🎉

  7. NxNW Brewing ($2,501) - now bankrupt ☹️

  8. NowRx ($1,600) - also bankrupt ☹️

  9. Quickloadz ($1,500) - 1.7x paper gains 🎉

  10. Avadain ($1,250)

  11. Virtuix ($1,200) - 2.6x paper gains 🎉

  12. The BuildClub ($1,000)

  13. Psyonic ($1,000)

  14. Boxabl ($1,000) - 1.1x paper gains 🎉

  15. SolarGaps ($1,000) - 1.2x paper gains 🎉

  16. Cafe-X ($850)

  17. Hedge ($625)

  18. Azure Printed Homes ($600) 1.3x paper gains 🎉

  19. Whiteclouds ($550) - 1.2x paper gains 🎉

  20. Substack ($500)

  21. Clockwork ($500)

  22. Ink’d Greetings ($500)

  23. Ola Brew ($500)

  24. Ollo Footwear ($500)

  25. Armbrust American ($500)

  26. Praise Token ($500) - effectively bankrupt, but plodding along ☹️

  27. FuelGems ($400) - 1.5x paper gains 🎉

  28. Crafter ($350)

  29. The Sill ($300)

  30. Irrigreen ($250) - 1.4x paper gains 🎉

  31. Autocase ($250)

  32. Four Doors ($200)

  33. Republic Note ($150) - actively trading, currently -58%**

    *I invested in AtomBeam at several valuation levels, and was also compensated by AtomBeam in stock for content creation I did for them. 7x paper gains is the best multiple from this range of investments & RSUs

    **I actually recommended against investing in Republic note here, but scooped up a very small portion since it comes with ‘access’ perks to exclusive crowdfunding events. As someone reporting in the space I had to buy in to stay informed!

Overall I’m very pleased with how my portfolio is shaping up. Aside from 3 bad investments, multiple other investments have increased in value and I maintain strong conviction in my core investment group.

Blue Zone Partners in particular has returned my entire investment in cash, and I maintain an ownership stake in the company. They’ve nearly tripled revenue to $11M+ and are shaping up to be a top investment for me.

Psyonic just nabbed a deal from 3 sharks on Shark Tank, and Virtuix is moving into production for their VR treadmill. There’s tons of positive updates across the portfolio, too many to share here. But make sure you’re subscribed to stay in the know!

I’ll end with one of my favorite all-time quotes:

“If I had asked the people what they wanted, they would’ve asked for a faster horse”

- Henry Ford

The greatest ideas come from people who are told they’re absolutely crazy.

Did you like this article?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Please note that CROWDSCALE is not recommending investment into any of the above startups. Investing in startups is risky and you should only invest that which you are able to lose.

Join the conversation

or to participate.